SARAH STAPLES

IT'S ALL DOWNHILL FROM HERE | Downhill Racing | Mountain Biking | Cross Country

Suspension: Worth forking out on?

Over the past few months when the weather has been cold, damp and miserable, I’ve taken to using my old Kona Lisa hardtail for trail riding, rather than my full sus trail bike.

I wouldn’t say I was completely lazy (maybe just a little bit), but I could see that the relentless mud and grime covering my trail bike ride after ride was taking its toll, and when you want to look after your suspension and other delicate components on your bike as much as possible, it’s really not the wisest idea to cover it in mud then jet-wash it week after week.

So whilst the trail bike hibernates, the hardtail has come out in full force, and to be honest I think its been a great decision.

My Kona is a bit of a train wreck. In my three years’ of ownership, I have changed nothing other than the handlebars.

The RockShox Dart 1 forks have had minimal care, and within a year and a half they probably had about 10mm of travel left in them at best. But when you have a trail bike and a downhill bike too, they tend to take priority.

So, I have been riding my near-rigid hardtail around all winter, and… I love it!

20130202_121352

Taking a break on the red route at Llandegla

When I first rode my hardtail this winter, I really felt tempted to treat myself to some new forks as it was definitely noticeable there was next to no travel.

But that is what got me thinking. If I bought brand new forks now, they would have to endure months of mud, cold and rough conditions.

So why use your best parts in an environment that will destroy it quicker, and prevent you getting the optimum use out of it?

Besides, during the winter months when the trail is muddy and riding at night seems to be the most common opportunity to get out, there’s no need for masses of suspension because you’re not going as quick as you would be in drier conditions.

I recently took my bike to Alf Jones’ Cycles, where I had the shockingly poor gears tuned up, and the cables replaced. The mechanic gave the advice to essentially “run it into the ground” over winter, and then when the weather improves, replace the cassette and chain etc., because they are on their last legs.

So with that, i’ve decided that my rigid hardtail will see me through winter, and make jumping back on my trail bike even more exciting come spring!

And who knows, maybe after all that hard work, I might treat my hardtail to some nice new forks for the summer!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2013 by in Uncategorized.